top of page
White Room

Discover Lavleen Sharma's Blog

Post: Welcome

Sound & Conversation don't (need) exist

Updated: Sep 14, 2020


This is nerdy, so brace up with some brain food. It will be worth it, if the mind and its various worlds is a concept that interests you. Well, then you already know it is not JUST A CONCEPT.


Last night, I was writing till 12:00 a.m. Then brushed my teeth and lied down, reading Crime and Punishment on my phone. More often than not, I get lost in stories. It's not that I always like to be there but lost I am. Wait, you are getting the wrong impression of the meaning of lost. It is a billion moments been inside a story or a thought or any work - and a sudden, a very sudden faint realisation creeping in of WHERE AM I? This is a mental space where most of my mind is somewhere else - somewhere that is not at all this world or whatever our presence here stands for. Times like these - the first thought is WHERE AM I? Trust me, this is real, this happens almost everyday to me.


This OTHER mental space where I am at, has a background of immense darkness (literally, the color around). It is void of anything else except the super sensory experience that I am having. This experience is in a way the only propagation that I as a being is aware of, in fact aware of in such a clear manner that I know for sure that there is no other propagation possible in this world/place of mind that I am at. It is this space that makes me believe that the sensory world is quite inadequate for all the purposes and faculties that could be possible. It is in this very space that most of my creativity gets points to work on, but creativity aside - this space is phenomenally worth exploring. Therefore, I will come out with a much bigger essay explaining most of what I know about that space. As for now this much is more than enough to follow what I want to tell you about SOUND.


(If you followed me till here. I really am grateful for your efforts and congratulations on wracking your brains to understand the above)


Sound as we know today is a concept and a physical property well rooted in our fabrics. While I was just coming out of the above super sensory state - I heard something for the first time. The space or place that my mind always goes to is void of the concept of sound as a necessary property for communication. Not only do I mean that communication is possible using just expressions and gestures but also the fact that telepathy is not some crazy idea - it is a well rooted concept that takes place everyday in that space.


So you can imagine how hard it would have been for me to hear something for the first time. I say this is the first time because in all my reality that moment when I heard my room fan after coming out from the supersensory space, it was my first time to hear a sound of this existential world that we live in. I was new to sound. I was new to the idea that there could be something like sound. It took me more time than that moment to name this feeling as sound. It was hard for me to image why this property even existed. For an unimaginable depth of a few moments I was taken aback at the ridiculousness of something like sound. I may have got it from some unconscious thought I have been having.


Why just sound? Let me tell you I had had this feeling for conversations too. Now, mind you I am not advocating any anti social behavior here. Far from it, I want the mingling of ideas and thoughts but it is the erudite process of conversation that I find repulsive. Yes here, I can be condemned to have such a thought because I myself am anti social at a lot of times (But that's not the point here). Conversations are really hard and sham at most of the times. It needs time to close veneers and start mingling. A good conversationalist would point out my lack of hard work but I do work hard - its just not for conversations. I do make it a point to be clear about my ideas and the process I have taken to reach some conclusion, especially a contrarian one. Because these days a non contrarian is just taken at its face value - for which too, I have explanations for my real close friends.


Conversation, sound and what would be next in my pursuit to cut things off our DNA (perhaps, not the property of physics underlying sound)? Maybe this is a result of the rustic thoughts I have gathered when I sat alone for months, studying for my CA exams. It is quite possible that I may be mistaken. Though, what I am not mistaken is about the redundancy of these two properties.


To be continued.... 14th September 2020





26 views
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page